Ontario Railway Stations
The CPR station was built around 1945 and replaced an earlier structure. It is a designated historical structure due to its unique modern styling. After sitting derelict for many years, the building was purchased by the city of Owen Sound and restored. According to recent reports, the city has been in negotiations with a family who plans to open a brew pub and restaurant in the building.
The CN station was built in 1932. It replaced an earlier station built by the GTR around 1894. It was used until 1970 when passenger service was discontinued. The building then fell in to the familiar pattern of sitting derelict for a number of years until it was rescued and restored. Since 1985 it has been home to the Owen Sound Marine & Rail Museum.